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Idaho Division of Veterans Services
Gold Star License Plate Verification

During the 1st Regular Session of the 60th Idaho Legislature, HB24 was passed, allowing for the issuance of Gold Star license 
plate for spouses, parents, and other immediate family members of military service members killed during active military service 
in a period of war recognized by the United States Congress.  "Gold Star Family" license plates are being adopted across the Unit-
ed States to recognize the sacrifice of families when a service member is lost during a military conflict. Surviving spouses and 
parents of deceased service members will not pay the specialty plate fees for gold star plates. A portion of the fees paid by other 
qualifying relatives will be used to defray the costs of administering the issuance of the plates at the Department of Transporta-
tion and the Division of Veterans Services. Any remaining fees will be used to provide support programs for veterans.

APPLICANT VETERAN

APPLICATION FEES:

NAME:

CONFLICT INVOLVED IN:

DATE OF DEATH:

RELATIONSHIP TO APPLICANT:

NAME:

NAME:

ADDRESS:

PHONE:

     CATEGORY 1: Parent or Surviving Spouse
Chapter 4, Title  49, Idaho Code, 49-403B(4) No special 
plate program fee shall be charged in addition to regular 
registration or renewal of registration of a motor vehicle 
owned by the spouse, parent or stepparent of a service 
member who was killed during active military service in a 
combat zone and receiving gold star license plates

     CATEGORY 2: Surviving Sibling/Family Member
Chapter  4, Title  49, Idaho Code, 49-403B(5)  A qualifying family 
member who is not the spouse, parent or stepparent shall be charged 
the regular registration fee and plate fee required in section 49-450, 
Idaho Code, and an additional fee of thirty-five dollars ($35.00)  for 
the initial issuance of plates and twenty-five dollars ($25.00) upon 
each succeeding  annual registration.

VERIFICATION OF RELATIONSHIP:
In order to verify the proper family relationship exists, applicants must provide documentation identifying the veteran and the 
relationship. Documentation may include:  copy of marriage licenses, copy of birth certificate, DD Form 1300, Notification of 
Death, or Death Certificate. Please attach a copy of verification documentation.

By signing this form I affirm that the information and documentation I have provided is true and accurate to the best of my      
knowledge.

Applicant’s Signature Date

Return form and documentation to: Idaho  Division of Veterans Services, 351 Collins Rd., Boise ID 83702. 
Questions? Please call 208-780-1300.

I attest that the documentation provided confirms the required relationship to the referenced veteran, and that the 
applicant is approved for Gold Star License plates.

Division of Veterans Services Date
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